Sunday, November 16, 2014

Before I Read All the Bright Places

Before I read a book, I look at its cover. Despite what people say, you can tell a lot about a book based simply on what it looks like on the outside. Although you cannot judge a story by its cover, the outward appearance can draw you in and make you want to read the words inside. I love talking about covers nearly as much as I love talking about the novels themselves, so I started a feature to spotlight these essential works of art.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Release: January 6, 2015 from Knopf
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this compelling, exhilarating, and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.
The cover of All the Bright Places caught my attention in the best possible way—with a clean and simple design. Instead of using bright colors and imposing images, it stays quiet and organized. The pastel Post-it notes align in perfectly parallel columns and rows, exemplifying order and creating one of the most aesthetically pleasing designs I can imagine.

However, this cover held my attention in a different way—with emotion. At first, office supplies seem professional and detached, but the bird and the flower that adorn two of the sticky notes hint at an exciting adventure. I do not know what they mean, but I have no doubt they represent a meaningful part of the plot. As soon as I noticed these accents, my feelings for the cover melted from appreciation of its layout to fascination about the secrets it holds.

I cannot wait to read this book and watch the characters' feelings toward each other and their state undergo a similar transformation.

7 comments:

  1. I love simple, clean designs. They make my heart happy and my eyes stop. And you're right about the bird and the flower, they hint at the story that'll be told once we open it. *instantly TBRs it*

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like the cover for the most part. I don't think it would stick out to me much on a bookshelf though. The actual summary sounds great though.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This book's cover is amazing. I like the title as well, it seems like an inspirational, happy read. :)

    - Jay
    http://booksbyj.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  4. This book's cover is amazing. I like the title as well, it seems like an inspirational, happy read. :)

    - Jay
    http://booksbyj.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  5. I finished this a few weeks ago and cannot stop thinking about it. It's haunting, gritty and powerful, and I hope you end up liking it as much as I did Emily! :D

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm your newest follower as I just found your blog, and I can't wait to see more! :)

    http://enchantedbyya.blogspot.co.uk/2014/11/review-battle-of-labyrinth-percy.html

    ReplyDelete
  7. This cover is pretty amazing, I like how it's simple rather than loud. The summary is also really interesting. Not exactly my cup of tea, but I hope you enjoy this.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love to hear your thoughts, and I read every one. You just became one of my favorite people, so I will try to visit your blog in return.