Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Eight Under-the-Radar BookExpo Titles You May Have Missed

When I attended BookExpo earlier this month, I was lucky enough to grab a handful of highly-anticipated YA novels—There’s Someone Inside Your House and Genuine Fraud, for example.

However, I also procured several under-the-radar titles, some of which I wasn’t aware of before showing up at the convention. Here are eight quieter books that were promoted at BookExpo—books that haven’t gotten quite as much hype as the new Stephanie Perkins or E. Lockhart but that should be on you TBR anyway.




Spotlighting a group of five vigilante teens committed to righting local wrongs through small acts of heroism, this “join the team” story promises to be full of friendship, romance, and good deeds. // Out June 6, 2017 from Little, Brown and Company





This novel tells the story of an Indian American immigrant family—from the perspective of three generations of women. Alternating between three teenage POVs, it sounds like a beautiful, sweeping tale perfect for fans of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender// Out September 12, 2017 from Farrar, Straus, and Giroux





Privileged city girl Flora Goldwasser is sure she can woo her crush, Elijah Huck, by transferring to the farmlands Quaker school where he’ll be teaching next year. The only problem? Once the school year starts, he doesn’t show up. Told in a series of letters, emails, journal entries, and more, this novel is sure to be hilarious. // Out October 3, 2017 from Wednesday Books





This book is technically middle grade, but it looks like it will have plenty of crossover appeal for YA fans. Set in 1919, it tells the story of a girl named Henrietta, whose new estate is full of ghosts and surrounded by a mysterious forest. What lies within is up to her to discover. // Out October 31, 2017 from Chicken House





In this feminist, alt-history novel set in 2014 Nazi-controlled England, rule-follower Jessika faces a dilemma. How can she keep both her perfect life and her best friend and first love, Clementine, an outspoken radical who the regime has begun to notice? // Out November 14, 2017 from Candlewick Press






Set in a low-income rural area, this novel follows guarded, impenetrable Fishkill Carmel as she meets eccentric new girl Duck-Duck Farina. Fishkill has constructed protective emotional walls through years of abuse and hunger—but if she lets them down, Duck-Duck may be able to change her life forever. // Out November 14, 2017 from Candlewick Press





In Madison, a small town ensconced in the Mojave Desert, everyone gets one wish—and it always comes true. But wishes often result in heartbreak and chaos, so as Eldon’s turn to make his wish approaches, he begins to question what truly leads to a happy life. // Out January 2, 2018 from Sourcebooks







I have a feeling this meta fantasy book is going to be big, but I somehow hadn’t heard about it before BookExpo. It tells the story of Alice, who ventures into the world of her grandmother's favorite cult-classic dark fairy tales to rescue her kidnapped mother. // Out January 30, 2018 from Flatiron Books


What underrated upcoming releases—promoted at BookExpo or not—are you excited about?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love to hear your thoughts, and I read every one. You just became one of my favorite people, so I will try to visit your blog in return.